Skip to content

A growing number of national governments, parliamentarians, regional authorities and other elected officials and government bodies are joining the call for a moratorium, precautionary pause, or ban on deep-sea mining, either in international waters, national waters, or both.

The DSCC is calling on all governments to stand with science and support a moratorium. This includes a moratorium on the adoption of regulations for exploitation and the issuing of exploitation and new exploration contracts, unless and until the conditions laid out in our position statement are met.  



27 States so far have taken positions against deep-sea mining in international waters:

  • Moratorium Alliance: Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Palau, Samoa.
  • The President of Palau, Surangel Whipps, Jr., launched a new Alliance of Countries Calling for a Deep-Sea Mining Moratorium at the 2022 UN Ocean Conference in Lisbon. Fiji and Samoa were the first countries to join the Alliance, followed by the Federated States of Micronesia.
  • Ban: France.
  • Moratorium: Canada, New Zealand, Switzerland, Mexico, Peru, and United Kingdom. 
  • Precautionary pause: Brazil, Costa Rica, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Kingdom of Denmark, Monaco, Panama, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Vanuatu.

Is your country not on the list? Please add your support to the growing calls for a moratorium by contacting your Prime Minister/President and urging them to defend the deep.